Since when did Hernando become the center of the artisan bread universe??

Hello, my name is Steve, and I am addicted to artisan breads.  This was brought home to me a while ago when I went to opening day at the Botanic Garden’s Farmers Market.

I was walking through when I came to the booth of Boulangerie Olivier, who produced the German Rye shown on the right side.  I was familiar with their goods, having encountered them at the Cooper-Young Community Farmer’s Market on the weekend.  (Yes, I am addicted to Farmer’s Markets, too.)  After tasting several, I picked the Rye, which is usually gone by the time I drag myself down there on Saturdays.

I kept walking after that purchase and walked up on Lady Bugg Bakery’s booth: I remembered them as being in Midtown.  I tasted several breads, but the Rosemary bread nearly brought me to my knees.  I asked where they were located and was informed that they had left Midtown for 205 East Commerce Street in Hernando.

Hernando, Mississippi, people.  Population around 13,000.  TWO bakeries that produce bread like this?  Can Mayor Wharton not send tanks down Highway 51???

Any way, check these places out, especially if you love bread like I do.  It will definitely be worth your while.

About sjs1959

I am 132 years old,Buddhist yet Druidish at heart, happily in love with a beautiful woman, a fan of both the Chicago Cubs and the Chicago White Sox, more liberal than you could ever dream of, and handsome in my own right.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Since when did Hernando become the center of the artisan bread universe??

Leave a Reply

